Jeffrey Herlings Boosts World Championship Run At MXGP Of Riga

Jeffrey Herlings of the Red Bull KTM Factory team had a great outing at the fourth round of the MXGP motocross world championships at Kegums in Latvia. Despite losing the overall GP victory due to a crash, he extended his world championship lead to 28 points.

Herlings set off strongly during qualifying, and posted the fourth fastest time. The first race started with a setback, though, because he was involved in a forst corner pile-up. He was in sublime form, passing one rider after another. After passing almost the entire field, he finished third, extending his world championship lead.

Herlings started well in the second race, and set off in the leading group. Before long, he held the race lead, and looked set to control proceedings from there. With two laps to go, though, he crashed in the wave section, dropping him to third. Despite mounting an attack on the leaders, time ran out, and he finished third, which was good enough for third overall on the day.

“That was a rookie mistake,” Jeffrey said after the race. ‘’Normally I would never have thrown away such a lead with two laps to go. My front wheel slid out, and I could not hold it up from there. I lost the overall victory through this, and also five championship points. The day was more positive than negative, though. My start was far better in the second race, and we have done well in the championship standings, although I don’t like to talk about that much. We will recover as best we can for Sunday’s race, and I’m obviously hoping for another good day.”

Jeffrey was called to the podium for third overall, and now enjoys a 28 point lead in the championship standings. The final of three outings at Kegums will be this coming Sunday.

Overall MXGP Latvia:
1 Antonio Cairoli 43 Pnt
2 Jeremy Seewer 40 Pnt
3 Jeffrey Herlings 40 Pnt
4 Arminas Jasikonis 38 Pnt
5 Romain Febvre 32 Pnt

World Championship Standings MXGP:
1 Jeffrey Herlings 170 Pnt
2 Tim Gajser 142 Pnt
3 Antonio Cairoli 129 Pnt
4 Arminas Jasikonis 121 Pnt
5 Jeremy Seewer 120 Pnt